“See? I knew you were a genius!”

by kattiewampus

In my role in faculty support services, I work with some incredible people. I provide assistance to law professors whose brilliant minds work  at speeds and comprehend things on levels that are far beyond my meager grasp of knowledge.

And yet, they sometimes have this uncanny ability to make me feel extraordinarily clever for the silliest reasons.

Case in point – the other day, one of my professors approached my cubicle with something in his hand.

Professor: “Okay, everyone says you’re the genius around here.”

Me: “Ha, I don’t think that’s true.”

Professor: [shows me the object in his hand] “Can you tell me what this is?”

karina-tortoise-thick-hair-clip-278x278

Me: “It’s a hair clip.”

Professor: “Are you kidding me? That’s a hair clip? See, I thought it was like a pencil holder or something.”

Me: “Oh, yeah – I could see that! Or it could be a business card holder!”

Professor: “…It’s a hair clip? Really?”

Me: “Yep.”

Professor: “See? I knew you were a genius!”

Yes, sir, I’m a regular savant.

