GRE update. Also, I’m tired.

by kattiewampus

This morning, my body decided it would be fun to wake up around 4:15 am. It also decided that the only thing more fun than waking up at 4:15 am would be not going back to sleep right away.

Now it happened that, in a fit of nocturnal motivation prior to going to bed last night, I set my alarm clock for an earlier wake-up time than usual. For some reason, I had gotten it into my head that I would wake up totally down to go for a run at 6 am on a Monday morning.

Rookie mistake.

Instead, I was wide awake at 4:15 am and vaguely (not to mention briefly) contemplated going for a run then. You know those times when you wake up in the middle of the night/early morning and you feel like you could just get up and start your day? And you know that if you go back to bed and fall asleep, you’re going to wake up feeling more tired than you do right then? But there’s a part of you that’s all, “No one in their right mind voluntarily gets up at this heinous hour!” so you (try to) go back to sleep?

Yeah, that was my story at 4:15 this morning.

Meaning that when my alarm went off at 5:50, I lay there, listening to the Proclaimers singing “500 Miles,” and thought to myself, “That would make a great recessional.” And then turned off my alarm and decided to see how I felt when the second alarm went off.

And when the second alarm went off at 6 am, I said to myself, “This ain’t happening today.”

Now, for the sake of dramatic effect, you need to understand that – due to insane traffic during my morning commute lately – my target time to be leaving my house for work is 7:15 am.

In order to achieve that target time, I aim to get up between 6:15 and 6:30 am.

So, imagine my reaction this morning when the next time I checked my clock after turning off my 6 am alarm, I saw that it was now 6:57 am.

Did I leap out of bed in a flurry of panic?

Nope.

Instead, I rolled over and considered whether a desperate need for more sleep would constitute a reasonable justification for calling in sick today.

Finally, after 7 am, I dragged myself out of bed and commenced the morning routine in a foggy haze. Meaning I was literally disoriented. To the extent that my brain’s attempt to transmit information to my limbs in order to produce organized movement was only about 75% successful. And I kept forgetting where I was and what I was supposed to be doing.

Amazingly enough, I made it to work 1) on time and 2) in one piece. Given my decreased sense of awareness toward my surroundings, I may have qualified as a driving hazard, but somehow managed to avoid any unfortunate incidents.

Then, I was really busy all day at work.

Then, I came home and spent the evening taking a GRE practice test. Let me tell you, there were multiple points during this test when I desperately just wanted to shut my computer and walk away because I was tired of using my brain on big words and tricky equations.

Or I just seriously didn’t know how to answer the question, which made me feel helpless and stupid.

At the end, the practice test showed my scores for the verbal reasoning and quantitative (or, math) reasoning sections (apparently they don’t keep a GRE essay-grader on-call at all times to grade practice essays for the written portion. Rude. <–Kidding. Just so we’re clear.).

Warning: I’m going to brag just a teensy bit, because you’ve all had to endure my periodic complaints about studying for the GRE.

The scale for each section is 130-170.

My verbal reasoning score was 162.

My quantitative reasoning score was 151.

I’m particularly excited about that last score, because I really don’t get math, so the fact that I didn’t completely bomb my first practice test is very encouraging. There’s hope for me yet! 😀

Also, my test date is September 20th, which is a week from this Saturday.

EEEK!!!

Hopefully my actual scores won’t go down from my practice scores. THAT would be awkward.

(Side note: this is, I think, the second time that I’ve described my morning wake-up routine in detailed increments of time. Also, I just typed “morning” as “mourning,” which I think is some kind of Freudian slip. But I digress. I’m not sure if I should apologize for my weird tendency to provide morning timelines, but nevertheless, I want you to know that I am aware of and monitoring the situation. Over and out.)

