About-face

by kattiewampus

So, the other day, I bought a blonde roast from Starbucks called “Aria” (formerly “Willow”). I’d never tried a blonde roast before, and I kind of had to buy it on principle because it was called “Aria.”

I don’t know if blonde roasts are an acquired taste, or only for the highly sophisticated, discerning palate, or what. But this coffee is terrible. The first time I made it, it just seemed really weak and watery. So, today, I tried to compensate by using a ton of grounds and letting it brew extra long.

All that did was accentuate the nastiness.

Even with three creamers and a packet of sugar added, it still tastes like it’s trying to kill me.

I’ve been had. I’m just another victim of cute packaging and strategical marketing.

In other news, remember how I wrote that post about all the things I wasn’t doing right now? Well, the tables have turned, and now I’m going to talk about how I started doing all of those things again. I’m pretty sure that qualifies as some sort of bragging. Whatever, dudes. It’s been a rough past handful of months, and I happen to be on the upswing right now. So, I’m going to celebrate the little victories (i.e. brag). My blog. My bragging rights.

So, let’s review. A month ago, here are the things I was NOT doing:

  • Studying for the GRE

Let’s just not talk about it. It’s kind of a sore subject. Oh!- but I did buy these AWESOME GRE flash cards to step up my game! They’re the best. Seriously. Each card has a math fact or formula on it (like, “how do you calculate the slope of a line on an x,y graph?” with the explanation on the back of the card), or a GRE math strategy, or a sample GRE question. Exactly what I need! There have even been a few select occasions where I take the flash cards with me on my lunchtime walks and study while I’m walking. I’m so cool, haha.

  • Going to the gym on my lunch breaks

Oh, it’s on again. Although I’ve adjusted my routine slightly. See, I like to alternate between cardio days and weight training/core fitness days. But the treadmill gets really old after awhile. So, on my cardio days, I’ve been taking a walk around the perimeter of campus. I love the days when I get to walk: I get fresh air and vitamin D, a variety of scenery, and I actually get more exercise in because instead of walking to the gym and changing there, I just slap on my walking shoes and go. Whereas I might be able to spend 20-30 minutes on the treadmill, I’m able to put in almost an hour’s worth of walking time now. What’s more, since writing that post about how I stopped working out on my lunch breaks, I have worked out on almost every single lunch break.

Now, that being said, I also went on vacation for a week and a half and the hotel we stayed in had amazing waffles. What was I supposed to do?

Draw your own conclusions.

But, I have this ambitious goal/dream about upping my game. Here’s a piece of trivia about my morning routine: my first alarm goes off at 6 am. I turn it off and go back to sleep. My second alarm goes off at 6:30 am. I turn it off again. At around 6:45, I actually get up. Now, at night, before I go to bed, when I’ve already been up all day and the idea of waking up and getting up seems easy, I like to tell myself that when my first alarm goes off the next morning, I’ll get out of bed and do some yoga stretches. Then I’ll go for a 20-min run. When I get back, I’ll do some more yoga stretches and some core exercises, and then it will be about 6:45. I mean, think about how much I could accomplish if I actually got out of bed when that first alarm goes off!

So far, this ambitions goal/dream of mine has never actually come to fruition.

  • Cleaning my room

One Saturday back in July, it just happened. I was in the zone. I reorganized my book shelf. I dusted everything. I tried to organize the surfaces of my furniture. I rediscovered my floor. I killed two spiders in the process. I even wound my clock for the first time in……. a long time.

As you can see from the pictures below, I may or may not have a weakness for decorating with knick-knacks and dead flowers. What can I say? I get very sentimentally attached to things like the bouquets from when I was a bridesmaid.

photo 1 (7)

photo 4 (1)

photo 5 (1)

photo 3 (4)

photo 1 (6)

In case your reaction to the above pictures is, “Wow, she thinks she cleaned? Someone should tell her it still looks really cluttered…” – all I can say is, you should have seen the way it looked before. Also, in case you couldn’t tell, that first picture is comprehensive: the books on the floor represent “before,” the books on the shelf represent “after.” Just so we’re clear.

  • Flossing my teeth

I just started doing it again. I don’t really have an explanation. Read about my dentist success story here!

  • Ordering more contacts

The weekend after that blog post, I ordered more. Necessity is the mother of productivity. Wal-Mart is my new hero. That is all.

***

So. I’m officially making a come-back. Except for the blonde roast. I’m on my third day of using it and it’s just bad. I’m torn between just throwing it out (wasteful?) to spare myself the torture or making it by the bucketful so I can use it up as quickly as possible. Which would mean drinking it in mass consumption. Blech.

But hey, if my biggest complaint right now is the blonde roast fiasco, then I’d say things are looking pretty good for the moment.

Over and out.

