Word Crimes

by kattiewampus

Well, there’s a first time for everything, I guess. I never dreamed that I would find myself talking about Weird Al Yankovic OR Robin Thicke on my blog, especially since I think Weird Al is kind of annoying and Robin Thicke simply just offends me.

Then my friend sent me a link to this video of Weird Al parodying Robin Thicke’s “Blurred Lines.”

Can two wrongs make a right?

I absolutely hate the original song. I’m also a conflicted grammar snob: poor grammar annoys me but I do recognize that I make plenty of grammatical errors. I like to think I’ve got the basics down, but I’m prone to my own classic grammar mistakes just the same. I tend to use poor grammar more often on this blog because it is sometimes helpful for conveying a more conversational style of written thought.

As annoying as I think Weird Al is, there’s still a quality of undeniable and, dare I say, inappropriate cleverness to his parodies, that I can’t help feeling some sense of solidarity toward him for taking a song as repulsive as “Blurred Lines” and turning it into something much funnier and more apropos.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go do some soul-searching.

