Another Pasadena adventure: Huntington Gardens

by kattiewampus

On Sunday, we went to Huntington Gardens. I hadn’t been there since I was in college, so it was fun to rediscover it. I now have a new fascination with Chinese gardens.

IMG_0463

The Children’s Garden was also for the young at heart.

My brother-in-law is sprinkling rocks into the metal grate: it makes a beautiful, musical sound, like wind chimes on steroids.

IMG_0469

Sometimes when I feel like acting out, I go beyond the “Staff Only” sign.

IMG_0485

Then we all hugged a tree. Well, they hugged the tree. I took pictures.

IMG_0492

I guess I was feeling rebellious today. Please note the chain fence in the foreground.

IMG_0501

Trespassing on the mausoleum.

IMG_0502

Such a rebel.

IMG_0504

Dad was being a free spirit.

IMG_0556

Traipsing down the path.

IMG_0507

Sasquatch’s ancestor.

IMG_0520

The “Terrace of the Jade Mirror” – the round gates represent the full moon, which is often symbolized by a white jade mirror in Chinese literature.

IMG_0524

And I was just ornery today.

IMG_0527

Balance.

IMG_0539

Brother-in-law communing with the rock that looked like Admiral Acbar’s head.

It’s a trap.

IMG_0548

Searching for the Wish Fish.

IMG_0544

The Wish Fish: if you catch it, it will grant you a wish.

IMG_0551

Happy Father’s Day, Dad!

