Old Pasadena adventure: the Norton Simon Museum

by kattiewampus

Today we went to the Norton Simon Museum of Art.

I might have mentioned before that I have a low saturation point when it comes to museums. I love the idea, but I have to go through them quickly, otherwise I get easily bored/tired/overstimulated/grumpy. I’m totally there for the visual component – if I try to read every single informative plaque for every single painting, I’m over it in, like, five minutes. But if I can just breeze through the galleries and look at all of the cool pictures and not feel obligated to stare thoughtfully at the paintings/sculptures/pictures/etc that really don’t interest me, then it’s all good.

So, the following photos represent a brief tour of the Norton Simon Museum: Kattiewampus-style.

photo 1(2)

I like to commune with the art – it helps me appreciate it.

photo 2(2)

They say imitation is the highest form of flattery.

photo 3

Van Gogh painting. Portrait of a man, or something like that. I liked the colors.

photo 1

Classic Degas: dancers doing dance-y things.

photo 4

Awesome abstract art canvas that covered the entire wall.

I don’t remember the name of the artist.

This is awkward.

Sam Francis.

Whew. I feel better now.

photo 5

Contemplating the giant abstract paintings.

I love me some abstract modern art!

IMG_0614.JPG

With my seestor.

photo(1)

Sculpture gardens: the tree that looked like a person.

photo 2

It’s totally Sasquatch, right?!

IMG_0654.JPG

Seestor, Moum, and me.

Yes, I call my mother “Moum”. For explanation, see here.

If that explanation didn’t make sense to you, that’s okay.

Moum understands me.

photo 3

Possibly my favorite sculpture in the gardens.

Such expression.

Also, possibly the only sculpture that wasn’t a nude woman who appeared to be losing her balance.

It was kind of a theme.

photo 4

Clearly, I’ve reached my saturation point.

photo 5

Behaving.

Because I love my seestor and my moum.

I had a great time, though. While I poke fun at myself because of my own inability to appreciate art museums to their fullest extent, I still enjoyed the Norton Simon and would definitely go back.

