Thirty-two years we’ve sailed these seas together

by kattiewampus

Image

This is the story of why I have a random picture of a glass ship on my blog.

In December 2013, my parents celebrated their thirty-second anniversary. This photo was taken when we were decorating our Christmas tree and I was admiring this beautiful, glass-blown “ship in a bottle” ornament that we’ve put on the tree every year for as long as I can remember. I learned that my parents bought the ornament at a seaside boutique when they were on their honeymoon. As I’m sure you can imagine, I was immediately charmed by the symbolic significance of the beautiful little ship representing the launching of a committed relationship that has been going strong for thirty-two(plus) years. Of course, it seemed like the perfect “mascot” for my blog, so I incorporated it into the blog theme as a tribute to my parents, who daily model a relationship of commitment, care, and communication.

