This explains so much about the way my mind works…sort of

by kattiewampus

1, 2, and 3 are siblings. 1 and 2 are boys, 3 is a girl. 2 likes 4. 3 and 4 are friends, but 3 is younger than 4, so she is that young friend that looks up to 4. 4 and 5 are siblings. 5 is a boy. 5 and 6 are friends. 4 likes 6, kind of the way Sally likes Linus. 6 and 7 are siblings, 7 is a girl. 7 sometimes hangs out with 5 and 6, but 7 and 8 are best friends. 8, 9, and 10 are siblings. 8 and 9 are girls, 10 is a boy. As the older sister, 9 sometimes associates with 7 and 8, when she isn’t flirting with 11 and 12. 10 prefers to hang out with 11 and 12, who are siblings, along with 13 (here I think the relational cycle starts over, i.e., “1, 2, and 3” = “11, 12, and 13” etc.)

 
Ever since I learned my numbers, I have always associated this scheme of relationships with them. I also associate colors with them. For example: 1 is black, 2 is gold, 3 is pink, 4 is red, 5 is blue, 6 is marigold, 7 is dark green, 8 is light green, 9 is brown.

Tonight I stayed up listening to a 2-hour radio program of Shostakovich and reading blog entries from http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/. I only mention this for the sake of context. Shostakovich isn’t particularly relevant to this blog post, but his birthday was earlier this week, so I feel like the least I can do is give him honorable mention in tonight’s post. Anyway, in one of the entries I was reading, the writer talks about synesthesia. I’ve only ever really heard the term used to talk about hearing sounds as colors. But on a whim, I went to the ever-knowledgeable Wikipedia and started reading about the phenomenon of synesthesia. And in so doing, I discovered that, at least based on what I see in my mind with regard to numbers, letters, days of the week, and months, I experience two types of synesthesia: color-graphemic synesthesia and ordinal-linguistic personification. It feels weird to write that – like I’m trying to diagnose myself with something. But I’m not. Synesthesia isn’t a disease. It’s just a way of explaining a specific neurological occurrence. I’ve always been aware of it – I just never knew there were such technical names for it, or that scientists had put so much effort into researching why people such as myself think that 5 & 6 are pals, E is blue, F is green, and all 12 months are gender-specific.

This might also possibly explain why I view time as a calendar in my mind. Although it seems like it would fall more into the category of number form synesthesia or spatial-sequence synesthesia, which makes me feel like I should be better at math. I’m not good at math at all. I just happen to think about time as if it were a calendar. Maybe if my brain wasn’t so busy involuntarily associating distinct personalities, colors, and relationships with numbers, I’d be better at math. Stick THAT in your research pipe and smoke it, scientists!

 

(New rule: no blogging after midnight)

