Sometimes I forget

by kattiewampus

As a college freshman, I took a class called “Improving Relationships Through Communication.” As the name implies, the course was designed to highlight the important role of communication in all types of interpersonal relationships. Our instructor discouraged us from taking notes. In a sort of circular fashion, he believed that we would remember the things that we wanted to remember, and whatever it was that we remembered would be things that were worth remembering.

I have forgotten many things about that class. But I do remember walking away from it with this conviction: relationships are one of the most important things in life and communication is one of the most important things in any relationship.

It is a simple truth, and probably even an obvious one. But sometimes I forget it, especially in this quickly-developing culture of social media and ten thousand ways to “keep in touch,” where we have become like ships passing in the night, pausing long enough to hit the “like” button before we sail on. Sometimes it makes me feel unbelievably lonely.

Almost two months ago, I changed jobs and cities. I left a community and a life that I had just begun to carve out for myself. My life became suddenly very isolated. I don’t embrace change very well, so these past two months have been hard. I miss my community. I miss having relationships that provided safe spaces for honest communication.

I started this blog for several reasons. One, because I wanted to write, period. Two, because I wanted to write about things that matter to me. Things like the importance of communication in relationships. Like the necessity of knowing and being known. Things like shalom and flourishing. Things like Shostakovich’s 5th Symphony or Rachmaninov’s “Vespers.” Things like a perfect cup of French press coffee, or sweet potato fries.

Third, I wanted to write about my life. Because sometimes I forget that one of the most important things in life – in my life – are the relationships. These relationships are the stories that make up my life. And these stories are what I want to share, because the people in these stories are more than just ships passing by in the darkness. And everyone should have a chance to tell their story, or have their story told.

So, really, this is a blog about whatever I feel like writing about. Maybe it’s a coping mechanism, maybe it’s a writing exercise, maybe it’s therapy. Maybe it’s just a chance to see what stands out to me when I actually start paying attention to the story of my life.

